3 Downsides to Driving Uber

Alexandre Lores
3 min readMar 6, 2024
Courtesy of Unsplash

I tested out Uber driving as a side hustle the past 2 months. It’s been a fascinating experience that has taught me a few lessons. I already wrote about some of the good things about Uber as a side hustle here. Now let’s share 3 downsides of Uber driving.

Bad Diet Habits

Photo by Madalyn Cox on Unsplash

I drive late nights — between 9 PM and 3 AM. It makes the best money in the Tampa Bay area. That also leads to being tired and needing to drink more caffeine or eat more. The places open late nights here include McDonald’s and gas stations with food stores that are open late, such as WaWa’s and 7-Eleven.

It would have been better for me to pace things out. Either nap in the daytime, or have an earlier cut-off time so I don’t need to pound the snacks plus the coffee or Celsius energy drinks. I could have also packed a protein bar and made my coffee at home to cut down on expenses.

Seeing my Family Less

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

--

--

Alexandre Lores

Founder of thelatestblock.com. Director of Blockchain Markets Research for Quantum Economics. Writing about all things Bitcoin, crypto, NFTs and fintech